Starting Over and Over and Over Again

Now let me just preface my forthcoming statements by saying that while it may appear to some that I am complaining I assure you that I am not.  Having gone through a ton of personal turmoil over the past 4 years I have gained some very healthy perspective on life.

As such now every time that I experience a set back, I immediately think it can be worse and for many it is, so I have no right to complain.  Having said all that I am facing challenges, and while it’s not terribly fun, I do truly look upon them as challenges that can and will be overcome.

So it’s truly in the spirit of a positive attitude that I write this with the sincere hope that it may inspire some of you to do great things.  Essentially I am unemployed yet again, so after settling in to a rather secluded location thanks to the generosity of a long time friend and his wife, I have a roof over my head so that I can focus on the next chapter whatever that may be.

Now since I have gone through several lay offs in the past 4 years and as a result of that, lost most of what I owned I am incredibly low maintenance at this point in my life.  I realize that may sound like a complaint but it’s not, it just simply means that my overhead is much lower and I don’t need to make the big bucks to enjoy life.

In 2008 I made the peak earnings I have ever made which was low six figures.  While having money makes life easier I cannot say that I was happy at that time.  So here I am in 2013 making zero.  But other than the stress which I assure you is rather minor that having no money brings with it, I am a pretty happy guy.

I have a really cool and special lady in my life, although due to her work schedule we won’t see each other much in the foreseeable future, I consider myself truly blessed for every moment I have with her.  This past week I started by taking the traditional path of job searching and I pounded the pavement as they say.

I went in to many retailers, restaurants, pretty much anything I thought might be an opportunity, even went in to a Dry Cleaner.  This is all to say that even though I was making six figures not too long ago, I am very realistic and not arrogant when it comes to work. 

I am willing to dig ditches if someone wants to pay me to do so.  It was challenging as I didn’t find anyone that was hiring right now.  I actually had a couple of impromptu interviews, but I could tell by the reaction after hearing my past jobs and income that I am going to fall in to the dreaded “You are over qualified” category.

Now, I have always found this to be so ridiculous.  You can certainly be under qualified, and I am, for many jobs.  However, I am of the firm belief that you can never be over qualified.  Now, please understand I am not that naive, I do understand what they mean by that, but still find it silly.

If you have someone who is willing to do a job that based upon their qualifications may be less than what they could be doing, so what?  Let them work and be happy that you have someone in your employ that is good at their job for as long as you can have them.

Well, that’s enough for today.  Tomorrow I have an interview early for a restaurant and will put on the best foot forward and a smile on my face.

Till next time dear readers, thanks for tuning in.  Go out and do some good.

 

Carpe Diem,

Mauricio

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

