My car blew up but I am still smiling! Why?

Well, for the very few of you that read my blog and know me, you probably are aware that I have gone through the toughest 3.5 years of my life.  Once you go through a bunch of shit, you either thrive and survive or die.  Also, you learn what really matters in life, and your perspective hopefully changes for the better.

What all this means is that if you are by nature an optimistic glass half full type of person, which I am, you don’t let things to get to you as much as they used to.  Now I am not special and I do have my ups and downs, but I am just so much more even keeled now that I have been through a few shit storms.

Recently I started playing small Poker tournaments again, because I often make more playing than I do in my regular job.  So I had won a few bucks, nothing to make me rich or anything, but enough so that I could pay my bills current and even have a little left over to still play some small tournaments.

Last week my breaks were going out on my 1999 Pontiac Sunfire.  Now this car was nothing fancy but after going 6 months without a car for the first time since I was 16, it felt like I had the fanciest ride ever!  Besides the breaks, I also had two flat tires, so I limped the car over to a shop and had to replace the front breaks completely and had to get 1 new tire and the other repaired.

If it were not for Poker,  would not have been able to afford to make the repairs, but I had recently won some money so I dumped $350 in to the car and it ran better and I thought I was out of the woods for awhile.  I was feeling great and even went to another tournament, alas for the first time in 3 weeks I did not cash.

All was okay though because I had paid ALL my bills for the first time in I don’t know how long.  My mobile phones were paid for, yes I pay for mine, my son, my daughter, my estranged wife, AND my former girlfriend.  Don’t ask it is very complicated.

Here is the real kicker, I paid of my car insurance and didn’t owe again until August!  Yay!!!

Life was good.

Then yesterday I am coming back from running some errands and I hear a loud pop, my power steering goes out, the charging light comes on, and the car starts to badly overheat.  Before I can get to where I can tow the car, just as I am exiting near my home she decides to have a heart attack at the bottom of the off-ramp.

I call AAA and they tow me to the same place I spent $350 the previous week and I get the good news that the engine has seized up.

So I am back to having no car.

But hey, look on the bright side, my insurance is paid up until August.  Oh well, I still have a positive attitude and know that things will eventually improve.

Bad timing though because there are several Poker tournaments coming up where I could make life changing money for small buy-ins , but now have no way to get there.

Until next time dear readers!

Carpe Diem,

 

Mauricio

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

