Bully Movie deserves a PG-13 rating

I passionately want to make a difference with my life, and help affect change.  As such if I find a cause that I feel is worthwhile I will champion it will all my heart, soul and mind.  For those of you that are not aware of the situation, let me give you a little background.

The Weinstein company has a movie called Bully slated to be released March 30, 2012.  It is a documentary that follows the lives of 5 families that were affected by bullying.  I won’t go in to anymore detail about the movie, since there is a great website to do just that.  

The issue at hand and the reason for my passion about this today, is that the Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) has decided to give this movie an R rating.  This means that the audience that this film is intended to help, will be unable to see this movie without their parents.

The reason for the R rating is because of swearing.  I have a 15 almost 16 year old son and while I certainly don’t want to expose him unnecessarily to swearing, I am fully aware that he has heard all these words before.

Now you may be thinking what’s the big deal, they can just go see the movie with their parents.  However that is naive thinking, often a bullied child is too ashamed or embarrassed to discuss this with any adult let alone their parent.  So if the MPAA does not change their, narrow minded thinking the potential for maximum impact from this movie will be lost.

I encourage you to go to www.thebullyproject.com and learn more.  I will however give you a couple of sobering statistics here in case you do not take the time to visit their website.  Even if you have never been bullied and don’t personally know of anyone who has, and even if you don’t personally have children, this is an epidemic that touches someone you know.  It is also an epidemic that can be cured, with knowledge.

1.  Over 13 Million American children will be bullied this year!  This is an EPIDEMIC!

2.  Over 3 Million children skip school each month, because they feel unsafe.  This is WRONG!  What if this were your child?

While I hope that people are reading my blog in general, quite frankly I don’t care if you have not read anything on my blog until now.  This is what is important, if you believe in this cause please make your voice heard.  Tell others about this issue.

Remember Columbine and other school shootings.

I believe that if we could be more tolerant as a society that most if not all of these types of violent acts could be prevented.  Kids are hurting other kids.

Kids are committing suicide.  I have personally been touched by suicide, I had a brother who killed himself.  This had nothing to do with bullying since he was an adult when he did so.  However if this movie can prevent even one child from hurting someone else or themselves than it will have been worth it.

 

Do something!

This is important.

Carpe Diem,

Mauricio

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

