Appreciate what you have

Great day today, spending time with my 21 year old daughter and getting to know her again.  As I have alluded to before in this blog we were estranged for over a year.  I certainly am not going to claim that we are all hugs and kisses or sitting around a campfire singing Kumbaya or anything but….. we are communicating and that’s a start.

I really have learned over the past three years to be thankful and appreciative for the little miracles.  Three years ago I was making a very respectable income.  Then I was laid off after my division was shut down.

Things slowly but steadily began to go south.  Eventually I lost everything that mattered in my life.  I have learned some very difficult lessons, but I truly am a much better man for it in every way.

I even ended up being homeless for a short time, and am writing a book about that experience as well as other experiences in my life.  The purpose for writing the book is to help others.  I hope that anyone that is going through difficulties will read the book and gain some comfort in knowing that it is never too late to change.

Besides losing a marriage that lasted 20 years I lost both kids and had not spoken to my daughter, or should I say she would not speak to me for over a year.  My son will be 16 in a few months and I will miss a second birthday, but I am thankful that we talk regularly and are working on a blog and YouTube channel together.

I lost pretty much everything I owned, literally left a huge house full of furniture and other belongings.  However, I found out what many people much brighter than I have always known, that money and stuff do not make you happy.

It is never too late to start or to start over again.  I am doing it and am living proof that it works.  I won’t sugar coat it, and claim that it’s easy and everything is all rainbows and unicorns, but it is very satisfying and fulfilling.

While I definitely do not recommend becoming homeless, as weird as this sounds I was happy for the first time in a long time.  I was crushed that I couldn’t be with my children but I prayed and believed that I would change this.

I was determined to only be homeless as short a time as possible and within 3 months of first being homeless I got a job and a place to live.  I scraped together enough money to buy an old car. 

Here is one reason I am working harder than I ever have and am committed to excellence:

Sierra-me 2-5-11

In November I met a wonderful woman who makes me smile everyday, and now I just finished watching the Super Bowl with my daughter.  In many ways it is so surreal since a week ago she wouldn’t even speak with me.

So less than one year ago I was dead, and I mean dead broke and homeless.  Today while still pretty much living paycheck to paycheck, I am happy fulfilled and am working on several businesses that will eventually allow me to generate an income that will hopefully be greater than that of any I ever had before and will allow me to build a legacy for my children and future generations. 

Once I figured out that you can work with what you have and don’t necessarily need a lot of money to get started, I gained tremendous momentum.  I work daily towards my goals and am using the internet and studying techniques to improve my websites without spending a dime out of pocket.  It is hard work, but again very satisfying, and I have always been a firm believer in the motto that nothing worth doing is easy.

I believe that you can accomplish anything you set your mind on.  Don’t ever let anyone define you or what you are capable of.

If you believe you can, you can, if you believe you can’t, you can’t.  Never give up, never say die.  Tomorrow evening with the help of my daughter I will put up the first YouTube video of a planned weekly channel, stay tuned.

Life is great.

Peace,

Mauricio

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

