Friend me, Follow me, Like me or don’t the choice is always yours

WARNING: This blog post will be much longer than most of mine, and hopefully the longest I will ever post, but hey you never know.  I believe it will be worth your time to read it in its entirety and I welcome and encourage comments and suggestions whether they be negative or positive.  My opinion is that blog postings should be relatively short and easy to digest.  Today I break that rule!  I promise to do my best not to break it again, at least not right away.  Besides writing this much is exhausting.

Before I made the decision to blog, I wrestled with whether I should bother writing one or not.  Back and forth, back and forth like a ping pong ball.  I finally decided that I would blog, and I don’t do anything half way.

So if I was going to blog then I would blog at least once per day.  Now it’s not easy coming up with something to blog about that meets at least one of three criteria that I have decided were critical for me personally.  Nothing worth doing is ever easy.

The reason for the subject matter is a comment I received from a very close dear friend whom I respect tremendously on Facebook.

This is my blog, but I hope it becomes yours too and you embrace it.  Having said that though it’s mine first, and while I hope and believe that I will gain a following and I sincerely want and encourage comments and suggestions, I may or may not follow those suggestions.

At the end of the day I have to do what I believe is right.  The elements that form my criteria for writing this blog are not mutually exclusive.  Also I may add more criteria in the future and not every blog will have all the elements, but they ALWAYS will contain at least one of the criteria.

If the day comes when I can’t think of something to blog about that meets some or all my criteria, I will stop blogging.  Eventually as my skills improve I will work on the aesthetics part of the blog, but for now I am concentrating on the content.

Patience dear reader, I am getting to the criteria, told you this blog would be long, but it’s necessary for you to understand my motives so you will fully enjoy my future blogs.

So why write this blog? After I outline my criteria I will expound on each item. So here are my criteria:

  1. To inspire, entertain, uplift and or to make you think.
  2. To generate income. (doesn’t sound as crass as make money huh?)
  3. For fun and to improve my writing skills.

Okay so what do does criteria number one mean?  It will mean different things to different readers but let me share what my intent is.  I am going to try and post stuff that I as a reader would enjoy or appreciate.  In the spirit of that statement I am going to try really hard not to post anything that I feel doesn’t at the very least make someone smile or maybe even laugh.

Ultimately though I hope to help improve this world by giving you something to think about or inspiring you to help others.  I am finding out that it’s easier to do this than you might think.  Even if you don’t have much money or any money and little to no time it can be something as simple as smiling at someone or holding a door open for them.

I want to practice random acts of kindness daily.

So sometimes the blog may be very short with an amusing picture like the one from yesterday’s post or a joke, or a saying that lifted my spirits or caused me to think and I re-post it with the hope it makes you think or inspires you.

Criteria number two is the potentially controversial one.  Let me start by saying it’s okay to make money!  Our economy doesn’t work if we don’t make money.  Without making what is already a painfully long blog post any longer, suffice it to say that I need to generate more income than what I currently make and I hope this will be one of many ways to do so that is legal, ethical and moral. 

So back to the comment by my friend that prompted me to choose this topic.  I did a test post regarding an income generating idea that I am using.  Now it makes no difference what it is, whether you like it or not.  The reality is that I will be selective and if somebody really gets frustrated or offended they can shut me off. 

I am sure you all know how to do that hence the title of the post.  If you don’t know how and want to get off my merry-go-round let me know and I will gently let you off the ride.

But if you decide to stay on the ride I will do my best to keep you coming back for more.

I assure you I gave a great deal of thought to this topic for my post and whether or not to even go there but felt that it was worth the time. 

Now here is some food for thought before you decide one way or the other:

 

Why is it not okay or offensive or spam or whatever term you want to use to try and legally and legitimately expose people to ways to make extra income, but it is okay to post stuff that I personally find ridiculous.

For example I have seen some of my friends post that they just ousted so and so as the mayor of Who Ville, as in who cares? 

People love to post that they just arrived for lunch at Tom’s Taco Tavern or what have you. 

Really?  I have to go through a bunch of posts to read that? 

See, I find those kind of posts to be silly, frivolous, time wasting and dare I say dumb!

But…….  And this is key, if you are my friend or if I like your other messages I am okay with it and I can separate the wheat from the chaff.

I defend your right to post whatever you want.  It’s cool by me, if I don’t like it I will move on to the next post.

Point is this, you, I, we can post whatever we like.  I have a choice to read it, ignore it or permanently un-follow someone if it really bothers me that much.

Also I have come close to un-following some folks, but haven’t because I am open minded and really truly believe that everyone on this planet has something to contribute and I am willing to wade through the dung to find that diamond in the rough.

So I leave you with this heartfelt commitment, I am not going to directly contact anyone unless they want to be contacted and I will always strive to create value in my blog.

I may not always succeed but I hope I succeed enough times to get you to want to come back and read more.

 

Comments and suggestions are welcome and encouraged, just be civil.

 

Peace,

 

Mauricio

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

